Using speech bubbles

Speechable is a nice tool to add bubbles to your pictures. Today I used it at school. First I had to teach student that they can´t use any picture from Google images to create their bubble.

The concept of Creative commons was introduced and I allowed then to choose whatever picture they wanted from Flickr creative commons. The purpose of this activity was to make them write a bubble about any place they liked or visited in Argentina.

They had to upload the picture to speechable and add a word bubble.

You can take a look at what they created and at the same time learn a little bit about our country. Please check this link.

Which places would you visit?

About jenverschoor

I´m a University Professor. I´m also a Public Translator and hold a Bachellor degree in Educational Management. I´m eager to learn new ways of incorporating CALL into my classes.

Posted on March 16, 2010, in Esl, EVO, evomlit, Technology integration and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Hey, Jennifer! Thanks for pointing out Speechable, and sharing a link to your students’ photos. I can hardly wait till classes begin again here in Japan, so I can share with my students what I’ve learned from you. I want to introduce them to creative Flickr: Creative Commons, too.

  2. Jennifer, this is a great way to introduce students to Creative Commons, a fun way to use Speechable, too.

  3. Dear Paul,

    My students had a great time creating their Speechable images. I am sure your students will also enjoy the activity.

    Warm regards
    Jennifer

Leave a Reply

