Teaching Business English with Technology in Latin America

This year I was awarded the BESIG facilitator scholarship to attend IATEFL in Glasgow. As a scholarship winner, there were several moments to celebrate this award. IATEFL invited all the scholarship winners to attend a tea party and held posters on the IATEFL wall.

The same day we had our scholarship tea party, IATEFL online interviewed some scholarship winners. Take a look at our live interview together with Erika Osvath and Bruno Andrade.

This conference has been a turning point in my career. Not only was I able to finally meet several teachers of my inpiring PLN (Personal Learning Network) but also had to opportunity to attend thought-provoking sessions throughout the week.

My presentation was on March 22nd at 15:40 pm. In preparation for my presentation, I did everything by the book and finished with a tango called Caminito. I wanted the audience to understand that teachers in Latin America are asking for a change.

University of Cambridge ESOL Examinations helped me spread the word on a short survey I created for Business English teachers. The results of the survey clearly show that teachers want to start integrating technology and need to learn new skills and software applications.

One attendee did comment after the session that most teachers in his country do not know how to teach online and if it would be possible to train teachers online.

As always after attending an International conference, there were several great ideas I gleaned from the sessions attended that will be incorporated in my classes.

Below you will find the slides from my presentation.

Thank you to the BESIG team for making my dream come true and to be able to join such an amazing group of talented teachers.

About jenverschoor

I´m a University Professor. I´m also a Public Translator and hold a Bachellor degree in Educational Management. I´m eager to learn new ways of incorporating CALL into my classes.

Posted on March 28, 2012, in Esl, Professional Development, Technology integration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Congrats Jen! I watched your interview with Bruno and I just had a look now at your slides. As a BE trainer, I loved your tips and ideas on training business English clients. I’m sorry I wasn’t able to help you more with your research, but I’m working on an action research with BE corporate students in Brazil and will definitely share with you. Congratulations!

  2. An excellent presentation and great series of tips. The proper presentation makes a major difference when you are trying to communicate important ideas and innovative teaching methods. The integration of technology is crucial in the modern teaching world, you made well-researched points and put them together well.

  3. Thank you Eduardo for your lovely words.It´s been a lot of work to collect all the information. Luckily 450 teachers answered the survey.
    Looking forward to reading your research soon.

  4. Dear Jordan,
    I am really glad to know that you enjoyed my presentation. It was short but straight to the point and the topics were carefully selected. Teachers need to provide digitally rich learning opportunities if they want to move forward. Teaching must be driven by the pedagogy and supported by the technology.
    The survey I carried out in Latin America clearly demonstrates that teachers are looking for a change.
    Looking forward to seeing these changes in the classroom soon.
    Jennifer

  5. Jen, I wish I were there….Ronaldo told me how nice it was to finally meet you!

  6. Dear Carla,

    We bumped into each other attending a presentation on Facebook. At night I went out with the amazing CTJ team of teachers. We had a blast!

    Looking forward to seeing you soon.
    Beijos
    Jennifer

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,769 other followers

