How to use Twitter in the classroom

The biggest advantage of using Twitter is to be able to connect with inspiring teachers worldwide. If this is your first time using Twitter I would suggest to start by reading this simple Twitter Handbook for Teachers.

Due to the all the possibilities Twitter offers it has become a wonderful tool to explore and integrate in our classrooms. Take a look a the Top 100 Tools for the Twittering Teacher and you will certainly feel overwhelmed!! Bear in mind that as teachers we need to determine when new technologies are appropriate to build a twenty-first century teaching and learning scenario. We need to remember Mark Pegrum words ” Educators need a clear sense of the social, sociopolitical and ecological embeddedness of technology in order to incorporate it effectively into their teaching”

Many teachers are using Twitter in their classrooms. Below you will find thought-provoking links to help you integrate Twitter effectively.

50 Ways to Use Twitter in the College Classroom

Using Twitter in the Classroom

Twitter in the classroom: 10 useful resources

12 Expert Twitter Tips for the Classroom

How would you use Twitter with your students? Unfortunately I am not allowed to use the original version of Twitter at school therefore I have to use Twiducate a social networking site for school.


About jenverschoor

I´m a University Professor. I´m also a Public Translator and hold a Bachellor degree in Educational Management. I´m eager to learn new ways of incorporating CALL into my classes.

Posted on February 8, 2010, in Esl, EVO, EVO 2010, evomlit, Microblogging, Professional Development, Technology integration and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Great ideas for getting started with Twitter. In my classroom, I have used Twitter to keep parents involved in the classroom. Students can tweet throughout the day about what we are doing in class. Parents feel more involved in the school day and in their childs education.

  2. Well done Jennifer, some nice tips here. I linked here from my recent post at http://justcurious.posterous.com/ilearn-twitter>/a>. Happy multilittering!

  3. I think I messed up the HTML in my last post. Let me try again: http://justcurious.posterous.com/ilearn-twitter. Hope THAT works, ^V^

  4. Excellent post! I truly think that social media can have a powerful impact in the classroom, and definitely appeals to students who are already using the tools in their personal lives. I hadn’t thought of many of the possibilities that you mentioned, but can see their real-world application.

  1. Pingback: Aprendendo em Redes de Colaboração » Blog Archive » 5 motivos para não se usar microblogues em educação

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,762 other followers

